RSS Feed

Release Blitz: Killing in Costumes by Zac Bissonnette

Posted on
Release Blitz: Killing in Costumes by Zac Bissonnette

“A lively series launch . . . Bissonnette’s message of new beginnings after devastating losses inspires.” Publishers Weekly

Stardom fades fast when you’re on the line for murder, in this debut cozy mystery perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Jenn McKinlay.

Jay Allan and Cindy Cooper were soap opera stars in the late ’90s, a wholesome young husband-and-wife duo who combined musical talent with humor and charisma. When the truth about their sexual orientations came to light, their marriage and TV careers ended, but decades later they have remained friends. Together, they open Palm Springs’ chicest movie memorabilia store, Hooray for Hollywood–but no customers and dwindling finances spell trouble.

A Hail Mary arrives in the form of Yana Tosh, a ninety-year-old diva of the silver screen who has amassed a valuable collection of costumes and props and is looking to sell. But first, Jay and Cindy have to beat their competition, a vice president from a mega-auction house with ten times their resources. And when he winds up dead, they become prime suspects in the murder.

With their freedom and livelihoods on the line, Jay and Cindy desperately need to clear their names. There are plenty of other potential suspects, but they’ll have to solve it soon before they’re forced to trade in their vintage costume collection for two orange jumpsuits.

Purchase on Amazon

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Zac Bissonnette’s most recent book is 2015’s The Great Beanie Baby Bubble: Mass Delusion and the Dark Side of Cute. He is an equity analyst at a hedge fund, and lives in New York City with his partner and a tuxedo cat named Perry Como.

www.zacbissonnette.com

Twitter: @ZacBissonnette

Talking Points

  • Zac’s writing journey, from finance and economics to queer humorous mysteries
  • The Lighter Side of Crime: Why readers crave humorous mysteries
  • The booming market for Hollywood memorabilia
  • How a painting of Angela Lansbury in Murder, She Wrote Zac bought at a Hollywood memorabilia auction inspired the series. 
  • The history of LGBT representation in crime fiction.

Praise for A KILLING IN COSTUMES

“Fans of movie memorabilia will have a field day.” Kirkus

“Sure to enthrall. . . At the very core of this astonishing debut is love in various forms—and especially our eternal love of, and fascination for, Hollywood in all its glamor and glitz.” —Miranda James, NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author of The Cat in the Stacks and the Southern Ladies Mysteries

“With effortless prose and laugh-out-loud banter … the absolute must-have mystery of the season.” —Kate Carlisle, NYT Bestselling author of The Fixer Upper Mysteries

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: