RSS Feed

Review: Falling Hard by Tina Wainscott

fallinghard

In bestselling author Tina Wainscott’s gritty, emotional small-town romance—perfect for fans of Jasinda Wilder and Colleen Hoover—passions run high as a reformed bad boy reconnects with an old enemy . . . and gets her engine revving.

There’s no one Pax Sullivan wants to run into less than Gemma Thornton. Back in high school, she revved his heart more than street racing. But she picked his clean-cut brother over him—only to accuse Blake of an unforgivable crime. Eventually the charges were dropped and Gemma left town, but the hard feelings lingered . . . along with Pax’s gnawing “what-ifs.” Seven years later, just as he quits the police force to open a racetrack, Gemma’s back—and their chemistry is more combustible than ever.

If it were up to her, Gemma would never lay eyes on another Sullivan. She hates them, and they hate her—even Pax, who just so happens to be fixing up her father’s B&B. But the more time she spends with the lean, hard-bodied ex-cop at the inn and on the track, the more Gemma sees that Pax is nothing like his brother. Despite their anguished history, she’s tempted to take their relationship into high gear . . . if she can face the past and risk her heart.


My Review

Falling Hard is the second book in the Falling Fast series, but can totally be read as a stand-alone. One of the first things that pulled me in about this story was the synopsis; especially the tag-line that said this would be the perfect read for Colleen Hoover and Jasinda Wilder fans–that right there was enough reason for me to check it out.

Falling Hard was an ok read for me. It is fast paced and told from dual points of view. I was really intrigued by the story-line and wanted to know more. This story does deal with some difficult subject matter and I applaud the author for the way she dealt with it. There was some sweet and swoon-worthy moments, and also some moments that were frustrating.

However, I did have some issues with this story. While I was initially pulled into the story, I had a hard time staying into it. I understand the importance of what happened to Gemma and that it would be a big part of her life, but I felt like that’s all the story really was about. Yes, I am happy that she gets the closure that she needs and that she does finally get some long awaited justice, but I wish that there would have been more to this story. There is a romantic story-line between Gemma and Pax, but I felt like it was just too rushed. I understand that they had a past connection, but there was a lot of hate between these two for a lot of years and it was a little hard to believe that they would just flip a switch and jump right into a relationship with each other. The ending also felt very rushed to me. Things just kinda went into hyper-speed. I guess in the end, I was just left wanting more.

Overall, this was just an ok read. There were some things that I liked and some things that didn’t work for me. Even though this story wasn’t a real hit for me, I’m still glad that I checked it out. I think that the author has a lot of potential and I would still be open to reading something else from this author in the future.

*I was provided an ARC copy of this book, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review* 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: