RSS Feed

Review: Breaking A Legend by Sarah Robinson

breakingalegend

Perfect for fans of Katy Evans and Monica Murphy, Sarah Robinson’s blistering-hot series debut introduces the Kavanagh brothers—mixed martial arts fighters who work hard, play hard, and love with all their hearts.

As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.

Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.


My Review

Breaking A Legend is the debut novel for author Sarah Robinson. Breaking A Legend is told from dual points of view and follows the story of Claire and Rory. Claire wants nothing more than to forget about her past and start over. Everything is going to plan: new job, new friends, and some interest from ex-MMA fighter, Rory Kavanagh. While at first Claire tries to deny any feelings for Rory, it quickly becomes harder and harder to pretend….Rory had it all: fame, fortune and an exciting career. That is until one day, Rory gets a major injury and looses everything within a matter of minutes. Then Claire comes into his life and is like a breath of fresh air. She makes him want to fight for the life he once had. Will these two get the HEA they both want and deserve?

I really like Claire. I felt like she was a strong character, who had been through a lot and was just looking for a chance to start over. Her struggles and fears were real and easy to connect with. I adored Rory. I just wanted to give him a big hug. His life sorta went downhill after he got injured. He turned to alcohol and drugs to dull his pain. And then Claire came into his life. Claire woke up something in him that he thought was gone. She made him want to be a better man and to get back the life that he thought he lost.

Claire and Rory had some really great chemistry. Claire really brought out the alpha/possessive side in Rory. They complimented one another well and really came into each other’s lives at just the right time.

I also really loved Rory’s family. They are exactly what I think of when I think about an Irish family. They are close, in each other’s business, they give each other crap, but you can tell that they really love and care about each other.

One of the issues that I had was that I felt like the end of the story was a little bit rushed. I would have liked to have seen the book maybe be just a tad longer, so that the pacing would make more sense. Also, and this is something that I rarley have issue with; I felt like everything was wrapped up a little too neatly in the end, making it seem unrealistic. I felt every issue this couple had was wrapped up in a matter of just a few pages. Please don’t get me wrong, I like when things get wrapped up, but this just didn’t work for me.

Overall, I thought that this was an ok read. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. This story had a lot of good things working for it and I think this series has a ton of potential.

*I was provided an ARC copy of this book via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: